Career Night at the Museum!

ORGANIC

Last Wednesday night, the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum hosted its first Career Night. As a museum we have a number of incredibly talented and dedicated staff members that fill a variety of roles in the museum. Career Night was about giving High School students a glimpse of the variety of careers within an Art Museum and gives them a chance to talk with some professionals about their career paths.

I asked each of them “What do you love about working at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum?” here are there just a few of their answers:

Ben Finberg, Director of IT and Operations

Benjamin Finberg, Director of IT and Operations

 

 

 

“Some people are happiest when they’re the smartest person in the room; I’m happiest when I’m surrounded by smart people who are excellent at what they do. I love working at the O’Keeffe Museum because everyone here is smart, dynamic, and in pursuit of continuous improvement. The culture here inspires me to get better at what I do.”

 

 

 

 

Mara Harris, Marketing Manager

Mara Christian Harris, Marketing Manager

 

 

 

“The opportunity to tell the story of Georgia O’Keeffe and her art in a compelling way to drive traffic and increase engagement for the Museum has been an exciting way to use my communication skills. Learning about this fascinating personality, as well as the nuances of the audiences who like her and her art, is an ongoing creative puzzle.”

 

 

 

 

Eumie Imm-Stroukoff, Director of the Research Center

Eumie Imm-Stroukoff, Emily Fisher Landau Director of the Research Center

 

 

“I love bringing people together to investigate and explore concepts, research, and collections that help place Georgia O’Keeffe in the entire context of her life and work.  I work with:  1) smart, energetic, and thoughtful colleagues; 2) fascinating and interesting archival and library collections; and 3) individuals from which I am always learning something new.  It’s the best job!”

 

 

 

 

 

Dale Kronkright, Head of Conservation

kronkright_bw

 

“Preserving works of art allows me to combine physics, chemistry, engineering, computational imaging and art – my five favorite things – all at the same time.  There is no other job like it in the world!

Plus, I have the best toys, (analytical instruments!)”

 

 

 

 

Cathy Ullery, Director of Human Resources

Cathy Ullery, Director of Human Resources

 

 

“There is always something deeply interesting going on, which presents an opportunity to learn every single day. Plus, it is truly a culture of caring and respect, which aligns with my personal values.”