ACRL : Assocication of College and Research Libraries

Being active in professional organizations is an important part to Librarianship. Attending and presenting at conferences is a way for us to learn from fellow librarians, and share our own discoveries within the field. ACRL is part of the American Library Association (ALA), and includes many different kinds of libraries — from university libraries and special libraries to reaserch and museum libraries.

The 2015 ACRL Conference was held in Portland, OR last week, and I had the privilege of presenting a “pre-conference session” with some of my former collegues from Northeastern Illinois University. ACRL Conferences are held once every two years and presenting has become very competitive and prestigious. “Pre-conference sessions”, are usually 3 hour workshops on a topic of great interest to a large number of people. It’s held the day before the conference, and requires an extra fee for participants.

So what did I present on? The name of our presentation was “Tutorials Toolkit: Crafting Sustainable Library Instruction”. You can see the presentation and packet that was prepared for each attendee below :

While most of this presentation is geared towards University libraries, I am utilizing these ideas and best practices at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum Library as well. I am currently working on video tutorials that will assist visitors in using our online catalog, as well as databases.

Beyond my presentation, I also was able to sit in and listen to presented papers, visit poster sessions, and chat with vendors. Attending conferences like this always re-ignite my passion for librarianship and inspire me to stay creative, and think outside of the box at the Research Center Library.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I hope to utilize some of the new ideas and concepts that I saw at ACRL this year at the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum Research Center – stay tuned!

Mackenzie Salisbury, Librarian