Selections from Ghost Ranch Library: Bible and Leaves

Over the last several months I have been working with Georgia O’Keeffe’s Ghost Ranch Library, and during this time one book has stood out to me: The Most Superb Folio and Self Interpreting Bible Containing the Old and New Testaments: with a Paraphrase on the Most Obscure and Important Parts, Explanatory Notes and Evangelical Reflections . I was so intrigued, and yes, overwhelmed, by the size and condition of this book that I waited until I finished all of the other books before tackling this one.

One of the best parts of my job is that I get to go through books like these, page by page, and look for unique material (handwriting, postcards, bookmarks, etc.) that could potentially be useful to researchers. There was a lot to find in this large 200 year-old bible.

The text itself is printed in black and there are black and grey illustrations throughout.

Although I did not find any handwriting in the text that would indicate how it came to be part of Georgia O’Keeffe’s Ghost Ranch Library, I did find that pages had been dog-eared, and that the weight of this book was used to press leaves. These pages were documented as we found them them because the leaves will eventually be removed for preservation.

Although there are other books in O’Keeffe’s libraries that have pressed leaves inside, these are the most found inside any one book.

Tori Duggan, Research Center Services Assistant