Farewell (for now), on an Historic Day

Screenshot_2014-11-20-12-39-29~2

Pictured above is me, locking the gate at Ghost Ranch for the last time this year.  My internship has been an incredible experience in which I have learned so much and worked with some truly brilliant people.  I extend my sincerest gratitude to them for making the past few months so excellent.  Also, I send my thanks to everyone who has taken the time to read my blog entries during that time.  Fortunately, I will be returning in January for another internship at the Museum!  I look forward to returning to work and writing again for my few, faithful readers.

I could keep waxing poetic about what a great time I’ve had during my internship experience, but that feels inappropriate for two reasons.  First, it is not over, as I will be returning in just about six weeks.  Second, today is an historic moment for both the Museum and the legacy of Georgia O’Keeffe, and it most certainly deserves some mention.

As of today, Georgia O’Keeffe is the highest selling female artist at auction in history, after her 1932 oil painting Jimson Weed (White Flower No. 1) (seen in the featured photo) sold this morning at Sotheby’s in New York City.

Read about the details of the sale from the Huffington Post here:

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/11/20/georgia-okeeffe-auction_n_6192634.html

Congratulations to the entire Museum staff who made this possible!

Also, I wish all of you, my readers, a happy and healthy holiday season.  See you all in January, and as the HuffPo headline says, Hail Georgia!

Patrick Gora, Curatorial Intern

Jimson Weed Image from Sotheby’s via Twitter